News and Announcements

Panel Session on Archiving and Language Documentation, 11 July 2020

Abralin ao Vivo presents a panel session on
Archiving and Language Documentation
Saturday, 11 July 2020 at 17h UTC (10h PDT, 12h CDT, 13h EDT, 14h BRT)

  • Patience Epps (UT-Austin)
  • Ana Paula Brandão (UFPA)
  • Susan Smythe Kung (UT-Austin)
  • Denny Moore (Museu Emílio Goeldi)
  • Zachary O’Hagan (UC-Berkeley)
  • Jorge Emilio Rosés Labrada (U Alberta)

Presentations will be in Portuguese and English.

AILLA server maintenance on June 26, 2020, 10:00-noon CDT

We will be conducting scheduled maintenance on the AILLA site on Friday, 26 June 2020 from 10 am to noon CDT (UTC-5), and AILLA might be temporarily unavailable during that time. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

New Collection: The K'iche' Collection of Elizabeth Wood

AILLA is pleased to announce the opening of the new K'iche' Collection of Elizabeth Wood. This collection currently has over 2 hours of K'iche' audio recordings made in Chichicastenango, Guatemala, and covers topics relating to local history, traditions, and food preparation (there are at least six recipes among the recordings). Wood is a graduate student in linguistics at the University of Texas and her research focuses on the phonetics and phonology of this Mayan language.

AILLA will be closed for the winter break

AILLA will close for the winter break on Friday, 20 December 2019, and will reopen on Monday, 6 January 2020. During this time, we will not be checking or answering email. We will continue to review requests for new accounts once daily. For additional help with AILLA during this time, please see the FAQs page at https://www.ailla.utexas.org/faq-page.