AILLA Directors, Staff, and Advisory Board

AILLA Coordinator

Susan Smythe Kung, PhD
LLILAS Benson Latin American Studies and Collections
University of Texas at Austin


Anthony Woodbury, PhD
Department of Linguistics
University of Texas at Austin

Patience Epps, PhD
Department of Linguistics
University of Texas at Austin


Joel Sherzer, PhD †
AILLA Founder and Professor Emeritus in the Department of Anthropology

Mark McFarland
AILLA Co-founder and Former Director of the Digital Library Services Division of the UT Libraries

Ladd Hansen
Developer, UT Libraries

Heidi Johnson, PhD †
AILLA Manager

Eric Grostic
Developer, AILLA & UT Libraries

J. Ryan Sullivant, PhD
Language Data Curator

Graduate Research Assistants, University of Texas at Austin

Bermúdez, Tulio (Linguistics; 2014 spring, 2015 summer)
Bolaños, Katherine (Linguistics; 2009-2010)
Brown, Mark (Linguistics; 2004-2005)
Can-Pixabaj, Telma (Linguistics; 2009-2010, 2013 fall)
De Jong Boudreault, Lynda (Linguistics; 2002-2004)
Ewing, Eden (LLILAS, School of Information; 2022-2024)
Fairchild, William (Anthropology; 2001-2003)
Floyd, Simeon (Anthropology; 2006-2007)
Garcia, Camille (LLILAS; 2019-2020)
Gutiérrez Lorenzo, Ambrocio (Linguistics; 2016-2017)
Hansen, Ben (Linguistics; 2004-2005)
Jiménez, Ajb'ee Odilio (Anthropology; 2002-2003)
Mateo Toledo, B'alam (Linguistics; 2007-2008)
McIntosh, Justin (Linguistics; 2010-2011, 2013 spring, 2014 fall)
Niwagaba, Alicia (School of Information; 2017-2018)
Pérez González Glez, Jaime (Linguistics; 2014-2016)
Smith, Wikaliler Daniel (Linguistics; 2006-2009, 2014 summer)
Sullivant, J. Ryan (Linguistics; 2010-2011, 2012 fall, 2013-2014)
Villard, Stéphanie (Linguistics; 2008-2009, 2012-2013; Independent Contractor, 2017 spring)

Undergraduate Interns and Research Assistants, University of Texas at Austin

Aguilar, Paul (University Leadership Network; 2015-2016)
Arellano, Natali (University Leadership Network; 2016-2017)
Batres, Genesis (University Leadership Network; 2019-2021)
Garcia, Ruby (University Leadership Network; 2016 fall)
Hunt, Crawford (Linguistics, Plan II; 2014 spring, 2014 fall)
Lara, Judith (University Leadership Network; 2017-2018)
Martínez, Rebeca (University Leadership Network; 2017-2018)
Montelongo, Nishmet (University Leadership Network; 2016-2017 summer)
Orduña, Mónica (University Leadership Network; 2018-2021)
Pojman, Elena (NSF Research Experience for Undergraduates; 2019-2020)
Rodríguez, Flor (University Leadership Network, 2018-2019)
Santana, Alicia (LLILAS; 2014 spring)
Vásquez, William (University Leadership Network; 2014-2016 summer)

MLIS Projects, School of Information, University of Texas at Austin

Allen, Jennifer (2017 spring), Capstone, "AILLA's Island Move: Metadata Documentation."

Bruner, Samantha (2014 spring), Capstone, "Preserving Born Digital Records for the Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America."

De La Fuente, Lily (2016 spring), Capstone, "Metadata Development and Digitization in the Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America."

McDonald, Emily (2014 summer), Capstone, "A Lesson in Languages: Digitizing the Papers of Dr. Arthur P. Sorensen, Jr."

Orr, Jain (2017 spring), Independent Study, "Adventures in Archiving: An Oral History Approach to Archiving Dr. Joel Sherzer's Kuna Photo Collection."

Wahl, Mariah (2020 spring), Capstone, "Mapping AILLA's Metadata: MODS to OLAC-qualified DCMI."

AILLA's Founding Advisory Board

Dr. Adolfo Constenla Umaña †
Professor of Linguistics, Universidad de Costa Rica

Dr. Megan Crowhurst
Professor of Linguistics, University of Texas at Austin

Dr. Nora England †
Director, The Center for the Study of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America, University of Texas at Austin
MacArthur Fellow

Dr. Victor Golla †
Professor, Department of Native American Studies, Humboldt State University
Secretary of The Society for the Study of the Indigenous Languages of the Americas (SSILA)

Dr. Lucía A. Golluscio
Professor of Ethnolinguistics, Faculty of Philosophy and Letters, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina
Associate Researcher, National Council for Scientific and Technological Research, Argentina

Ms. Marilyn Graf
Archivist, Indiana University Archive of Traditional Music

Dr. Charles Hale
Professor of Anthropology, University of Texas at Austin
Director, Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at University of Texas at Austin

Dr. Jane H. Hill †
Professor of Anthropology and Linguistics, University of Arizona
Past President, American Anthropological Association

Dr. Yolanda Lastra
Researcher, Instituto de Investigaciones Antropológicas,
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Mexico

Mr. Anelio Merry Lopez
Director of Koskun Kalu (the research unit of the Kuna Indian Congress, Panama)